Messages for the Soul

My social media account is saturated with all sorts of life hacks and inspirational quotes about attaining success or dealing with everyday anxieties. And every time my sanity needs salvaging, these motivating words of wisdom have a funny way of popping up all over my cybersphere with answers to unspoken questions, like esoteric road signs from God along this rough and winding highway called Life.

lemonades and tequila

It isn’t easy being a mother.

Often I am besieged with frustrations and nagging self-doubt as a parent that I’d forget the very reason I chose this path in the first place.  Then just when I’ve convinced myself how terrible and uninspiring and messy life has become, an inspired mommy friend would up and post this on her wall as if to remind me over again what a beautiful blessing motherhood is.

Motherhood

It’s a great pick-me-up for any parent going through a bad day.

Sometimes what a stressed-out mom needs is a dose of humor to dispel that overwhelming sense of inadequacy or feeling of being unappreciated despite all her pain and efforts.

mommyquote3

 

It’s just eerie how the universe has a way of agreeing or sympathizing with me every time I’m feeling down and persecuted.  On .such days, I would stumble across posts that any hapless individual on the receiving end of vicious gossips would simply love to fling at their critics’ faces.

judging4

 

I admit I am given to occasional spells of self-pity that seeking refuge in the consoling arms of misery is a lot more enticing than standing up against a battalion of haters.  However, people know only too well that this–wallowing in defeat while your enemies gloat in their victory–is a total waste of time.  Even the late and great Elizabeth Taylor would’ve gladly slapped some sense into me, if she could, just to get me to deal with the matter at hand.

Pouryourselfadrink

However, where there’s no drink strong enough to knock some gumption into me or lipstick red enough to bring me back to life from zombie mode, a no-show at some dreaded event is always an option.  But of course, there will always be someone who, as if somehow reading my thoughts, would contradict this notion by sharing this well-meaning no-nonsense advice on her wall.

nevergiveup

Speaking of never giving up, these words of wisdom from Martin Luther King, Jr. never fail to motivate me in the aftermath of a major crisis. .

keepmoving

And indeed, unfaltering determination is key to achieving any goal as grit is the secret super power of the truly successful.

tryingharder

But getting back up on your feet after careering off track and splat into the mire of shame isn’t always what it’s apt to be.  It’s an excruciating process that often requires a helping hand or two and some encouraging words from people who love you most.  Every time I see this post on my profile wall or news feed, I am immediately reminded of a friend’s comforting arms and gentle reassurance of what really matters most.

how we rise

 

In this fast-paced day and age of advance internet technology, it is easy to get caught up in the latest trends or to be overcome by the pressure of social media.  Like everyone else, I am plagued by anxiety and other paralyzing self-deprecating thoughts about my ability because of this.  It’s akin to being lost in the woods, and a motivational quote on your news feed when you need it the most is like a headlight of hope in a dark abandoned highway.

comparing-highlight-reels

Also, stumbling across a quote that is just spot on (and funnily so) is like discovering a dime in the dirt when you’re feeling blah and stuck in a rut.  And so far, this motivational quote below is the best advice I’ve come across  in social media.

smile

 

 

One thought on “Messages for the Soul

Leave a Reply

